Teacher Appreciation

I love taking on craft projects. I usually don’t realize how difficult or time-consuming something will be. All I know is that I want to do it. My family would tell you that I have  so many ideas and that I want to do all of them at the same time. I am not able to just pick one.

We got an email from one of the room mom’s for Luke’s class, stating that it was teacher’s appreciation week. They wanted us to make cards/gift for the teachers. They said not to spend money, but to be creative.

Lately I have been really loving a site call pinterest. It’s a site that you can bookmark all the different pictures you see online and categorize them into groups that others can see as well.  While I was on pinterest I saw a picture of a craft that someone had made for a teacher. It was picture frame with the teacher’s initial in it and it was made with crayons. You probably have no idea what I am trying to say. Click here to get a better idea I am trying to explain.

I showed this idea to Luke and asked him what he thought about it.  He told me he wanted to give one to each of his teachers. He said he didn’t want any of the teachers to feel left out. I would have loved to, but it would have taken too much time…. maybe we can do it again for an end of the year present. We did make something special for the other teachers. But I will have to show you that another time.

This project does take some time and is very inexpensive.

Here are the supplies that you need:

  • A new box of 24 crayons ( I always buy several box when we go school supply shopping cause they are only $0.24 )
  • Picture frame (we used a 5×7)
  • Hot glue gun
  • Blade/knife
  • Pencil
  • Construction paper/card stock the same size of the picture frame.
  • Printed initial (I picked the font that was simple and changed the size 450)

We printed 2 sheets with the letter B on it.  We put one of the sheets to the side while we cut the B out of the other one.

Arranged the crayons to your liking on the table. This is how we arranged our crayons.

IMG_2039

Then took the B that we cut out and laid it on top the arranged crayons and marked where we would be cutting the crayons.

IMG_2040

Only cut the middles of the crayons. Don’t cut the tips off. I think it looks better with the ends.

The cutting of the crayons should be done by an adult. Jimmy was the designated crayon cutter/slicer.

Take one crayon at a time to cut so that you know where you are placing the crayon. Using your blade or knife start cutting the crayons where they are marked. Jimmy rolled the crayon while cutting it to get a more exact cut. After you are done cutting all the crayons, see if you like how the crayons are arranged. You want to make sure that the crayons look like the letter. If it doesn’t try arrange it and align it properly and cut of any excess ends.

Take the glass out of the frame. Take your template you put  aside and place it on the table.  Then put the glass from the frame on top of it. We like the idea of gluing the crayons to the glass instead of the paper.

Once the hot glue gun is warm we put glue on the crayon and placed it on the glass. The glue dries really fast so make you are fast and precise when placing the crayons. Luke was able to place the crayons that were easier to do.

I had Luke write his teachers name on a piece of construction paper with a pencil. Afterwards, he went over it with a crayon. When you are done put the construction paper with the teachers name in the frame and put the glass with the crayon initials on top of construction paper. Voila!! Your done.

IMG_2064

Leave a comment on this post we would love to hear what you guys think. Of course questions are always welcomed as well.

5 thoughts on “Teacher Appreciation

  1. […] I love taking on craft projects. I usually don't realize how difficult or time-consuming something will be. All I know is that I want to do it. My family would tell you that I have  so many ideas and that I want to do all of them at the same time. I am not able to just pick one. We got an email from one of the room mom's for Luke's class, stating that it was teacher's appreciation week. They wanted us to make cards/gift for the teachers. They sai … Read More […]

  2. this is great!! =) i would TOTALLY love it as a teacher. very creative and Luke’s handwriting is a wonderful touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

