Kitchen Reveal

I can’t believe it…. I didn’t wait another month to put up a post. It has been a week since the last post. Pinch me I think I am dreaming.

Since the last week a few things have changed in our lives. We actually moved out of my parent’s home and into our own. We did leave quite a bit of things at my parent’s, but hopefully we will be able to get that all into our own house. If I don’t, I will be getting a call from my mom asking me why I still have things at their house.

I don’t know if you read the last weeks post, if not your can read it here. The kitchen remodel is pretty much done. It seems like it has been forever since we started. Here is a picture of where we were last week:

IMG_0360

(Before I go any further I just want you to know that all the pictures in this post were taken with my phone. Sorry that if the quality stinks.)

Back when we saw this house for the first time in February, I felt the kitchen lacked a lot of countertop space. So the first thing that came out of my mouth was that I wanted to put the sink where the window was. Of course everyone thought I was crazy. Maybe I am, but this is just something I wanted to do. Since no one really agreed with me we just moved on to looking at the rest of the house.

Jimmy’s parents loved the house after we were done taking the tour. His dad said, “This is the house no matter what!”  We all loved it. We knew it needed a lot of work, especially the kitchen. We did not want to move into the house without remodeling the kitchen. 

After we put the offer on the house we started to plan out what were going to do with the kitchen. Jimmy and I started to sketch-out ideas for the kitchen. Of course I was all for the idea about putting the sink in front of the window. Jimmy wanted to put an island instead. But eventually we agreed the “my idea” was the best.

In order to put the sink in front of the window, we had to change on the window. This was one of the reason why we were debating on what the new design would be. If we went with the island we could leave the window. My idea of course would cost more. I can’t help that I have expensive taste.  Here is a picture of the wall with the window removed:

20120403_122241

Sorry I couldn’t get a better picture of the window. Here what the new window looks like:

20120403_192354

What do you think about the new window? I think it turned out pretty nice. Now I get to look out the window while I am doing the dishes. I can also see what the kids are doing in the backyard while I am in the kitchen. Then catch them off guard a few times when they are doing something they shouldn’t  be doing.

We search high and low for cabinets. We went everywhere possible to find something we really liked. We went to Home Depot, Menards and Ikea looking for cabinets. Surprisingly, Ikea has some great cabinets. We ended going with someone Jimmy knows. He just started to make his own cabinets. The minute we saw the cabinets we fell in love with them. Here is a picture of the kitchen with all the cabinets installed:

20120403_192912

Now it looks like something has actually been done to the kitchen. Once the kitchen was in place we called a couple of countertop installers to get quotes. Jimmy and I made up our minds on what kind of countertops we wanted installed even before we started remodeling. It was pretty much a no brainer for us. We both loved Marble countertops, but it’s not very practical if you are actually using the kitchen to cook. Especially if you are Indian and cook Indian food.  So the next best thing for us was Quartz. . There were still choices to be made. When we went to Home Depot, Lowes, Menards, and Ikea they had about 3 options of white.

We both ended up liking the same countertop style. The guy we hired did a great job. They even came and installed it a day early.

20120411_191852

Jimmy and I also decided on the back splash pretty early on. We first wanted to order the same back splash my parents had installed in their kitchen. Of course it was something that we picked out for them. But instead we decided to shop around and see what was available. We searched everywhere for these as well. We decided to use square glass tiles but decided that it was too dull. We ended up finding these penny tiles instead:

20120416_215557

They were a pain to put in but well worth the blood, sweat, tears, and arguments!  Here is a close look at the back splash after it was grouted:

20120503_232353

Here is a picture of the whole kitchen completely renovated!

20120503_232212

We are really happy at the way it turned out. I don’t think we would change anything…. EXCEPT…. just kidding. Nothing. We won’t change a thing!

Please let us know what you guys think. Is there something you would have done differently? We would love to hear your opinions.

UPDATE

*My sister requested that I put up a before and after picture. She is so smart!  Your wish is my command…

Before

IMG_0262

After

20120503_232212

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Kitchen Reveal

  1. Its looks wonderful Wincy! That’s awesome how you did it all yourselves and found the best deals. Can’t wait to see the new house!

Leave a Reply

